three men
Saturday, Jun. 05, 2004 - 03:40

Darkness abounds.

The cursor blinks on this blank template, ready to receive the words of my soul, beating with my heart.

The silence abounds; a hum here, a chirp there, deafening to my senses.

My heart shudders in my minds eye. Emotions seeking to escape, stretching to fill the emptiness.

I am three men.

One dwells in the past, encompassing all I once was: the child, the young man, the new husband.

He wanders freely in memory, trying to change the present, forever seeking solutions to the same questions, forever finding the same answers.

One lives in the future, endless possibilities.

He lives in the shadows and in the light. A beggar and a king.

His is all my lives, all my futures. A frightening few contain happiness. All contain pain.

The last lives in the present, dwelling only in this instant. Dwelling in fear.

The past he flees from, the future promises only pain.

The present is a limbo in which nothing can be accomplished, but offering a false sense of security to those who dwell only in it, and ignore the truths of the other two.

0 comments so far


yesterday - tomorrow